Bombardier: The Global 7500 business jet breaks two world records for speediest flight between New York, Los Angeles and London

Bombardier Global 7500

The Bombardier Global 7500 broke and set new flight speed records between three of the world’s most bustling cities

On 27 March, the same Bombardier Global 7500 business jet left Westchester County Airport in White Plains, New York at 6.26am Eastern time (11.26am in London; 6.26pm in Singapore) and arrived at London’s Luton Airport at 10.52am Eastern time (3.52pm in London; 11.52pm in Singapore), completing the transatlantic flight in five hours and 26 minutes under seasonal winds. It also successfully established the record of the fastest flight for a business jet between these two major financial cities. During the course of the flight, the Bombardier Global 7500 reached a top speed of Mach 0.925, with an average speed of Mach 0.92.

In early March, Bombardier revealed that the Bombardier Global 7500 business jet flew 8,152 nautical miles, the longest mission ever flown by a purpose-built business jet. At a sustained speed of Mach 0.85, this flight also sets the record for the highest speed over the longest distance in business-aviation history. Bombardier reports that the flight’s duration was approximately 16 hours.

Bombardier’s roomy Global 7500, which entered service in December 2018, features four distinct cabin zones, including the Club Suite, Conference Suite that converts to a six-seat dining table, Media Suite, Master Suite with full-size bed and standup shower, plus a full kitchen and a dedicated crew suite.

With the Bombardier Global 7500 also comes the new Nuage seat, which apparently represents the first overhaul of business-aviation seating in 30 years. The nice Touch cabin management system provides controls at each seat (and the bed) so passengers can control temperature, sound, lighting, entertainment and more.

Bombardier

Partner Content

Sign up for our Newsletters

Stay up to date with our latest series

Stay in touch with the latest in luxury